Skip to content

55. Something else

March 19, 2012

spindle leg, dining room, dining room table, antique table

I absolutely, completely refuse to write about change today (and anyway, Ann just covered it so nicely….). I’m going to write about…..um…. my dining room table instead. Yeah. That’s it. The dining room table covered in a  bright yellow oilcloth with strawberries and little blue flowers. The oilcloth has seen better days—it has paint splotches and rips and probably the remains of dinner still clinging to it. But it serves its purpose. It protects this old table—which sits at the heart of our house—from playdough, coffee mug rings and fork attacks. My ex-husband’s grandmother had the table custom-made in the 1930s. The blond wood has now aged to a rich caramel.  An H-shaped cross-bar connects four fat, spindle legs, which in turn rest on a small Ikea rug. Charlotte likes to hang out down there, and looking now, I see her leash (?), a red plush toy bone and a sky-blue marker. The marker is a leftover from  Fragile Blossom’s “office,” often set up under the eaves of the table.  She lies just to the side creating books and drawing her endless princess pictures. With the introduction of wi-fi to our house, I tend to use the table as my office, wedging my computer in beside the laundry, balloons, art supplies, keys, cameras, cardboard boxes, blank cd-r’s, random cords, and a crumpled lottery ticket. From here, I can hear the kids downstairs in their secret headquarters, aka the garage, from which the car has been entirely evicted. The dining room is, in general, darker then I like. Today, though, it is so bright outside that light streams through the two high windows. Dust motes and spider webs sparkle.

Did I mention that, unless we win that lottery, we have to move? I’m pretty sure it’s going to happen this summer. Yeah. Next week, maybe I’ll write about trees or movies or donuts or something.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Madeline permalink
    March 19, 2012 3:00 am

    Moving will be hard on the kids BUT you could get a smaller place that is easier to take care of. Perhaps their move could be incentivized with some new furniture item or something fun about the new place.

    • March 19, 2012 3:43 am

      I do agree. Smaller will be GOOD. (guest post, hint hint?)

  2. March 19, 2012 3:27 am

    It seems you are coping in spite of all the changes you’ve been going through. I see a woman of strength and resilience. Continue to be strong. I look forward to following you on your journey and I have a strong feeling that this will have a happy ending.

    • March 19, 2012 3:42 am

      Happy….yes. Ending…hopefully not anytime soon! But, yes, not looking forward to moving, but I think it will be very good in the long run. Thanks!

  3. March 19, 2012 4:05 am

    I am new here. I found you because you ‘liked’ a post from my blog. Thank you for that.

    Your ‘about’ page is so telling, so full of heart. My husband and I have often times, in the past several years, lamented for a sense of normalcy to once again find its place in our chaotic life…so far only “change” has remained a constant. Therefore, my heart aches, embraces, enjoys, and struggles alongside yours as we navigate our life of constant transition.

    Blessings to you, yours, and the dog as you continue on.

    • March 19, 2012 4:37 pm

      thanks for dropping by! And thanks for the comment – yeah, I don’t think the chaos ever ends, though sometimes its gotta be easier then others, yes?

  4. March 19, 2012 1:57 pm

    I like the randomness of your posts. It’s neat how you take a common household object and turn it into a post. I find when I sit down to write I sometimes have no idea where it’s going. Does that happen to you?

    • March 19, 2012 4:37 pm

      All the time! thanks for the comment. keep writing!

Trackbacks

  1. 56. Wordless Wednesday « I am not who I think I am

Leave a Reply

