Skip to content

57. Donuts

March 23, 2012

donuts are good. bacon. rainbow sprinkles. yumAnd now, Ladies and Gentlemen, the moment you have all been waiting for…. It’s time to write about donuts.

Donuts are good.

I can’t say that enough.

Donuts are good.

I particularly like chocolate ones. Rainbow sprinkles add a nice kick.

I will eat stale donuts if I have to.

I will eat stale donuts even if I don’t have to, which is most of the time.

I might pull stale donuts from the garbage. You know, if it was a new bag or something. Sorry for the overshare.

Donuts are good.

I like the way the sugar rush makes me go cross-eyed.

I’d like to try a donut with bacon.

That’s it.

(Nope. No pithy meaningful conclusion. No big life insights. No self-reflection today. Move along, folks, move along.)

(Yes. I ate all three. In one sitting. Yum.)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. lauriejlong permalink
    March 23, 2012 4:07 am

    Love your honesty! I have a box of donuts on my counter right now… they are enticing me to cheat on my lower carb- no junk food diet. Stupid donuts. I would send them to you, but they’d be stale by the time they got there. :) Too bad we can’t eat virtual food.

    • March 23, 2012 4:08 am

      So that’s the thing – there is NO way I could have a box of donuts on my counter. thank GOD i don’t! Please enjoy them responsibly….after you finish your diet? :)

      • lauriejlong permalink
        March 23, 2012 3:06 pm

        I shoved them off on my kids this morning. We are all happy today. :P

  2. March 23, 2012 5:13 am

    You have my undying admiration! In one of my former lives, I was a personal fitness trainer. There is no way I could eat all three without the hound dogs of guilt baying me up a tree. Oddly, I bought a chocolate-frosted, rainbow sprinkled donut for my son for the first time today, in celebration of his first official baseball practice. He has been begging me to buy him a donut for months. :o) So what I want to know is this: Did you eat these all by yourself in the middle of the night, or did you share them with your kids? Inquiring minds want to know.

    • March 23, 2012 6:00 pm

      So. I wrote the post. Then went out and bought myself three donuts, came home. Made decaf coffee while I waited for my camera battery to charge. Then ate all three in the middle of the day, with the coffee. It was interesting – since I wasn’t actually binging – I decided beforehand I would eat all three — and frankly, I didn’t really want the third. But I did it. And I’m hoping that next time I have the craving – I will remember the kind of yucky feeling I had after D3!

      • March 25, 2012 4:54 am

        Hmmm. There’s something to be said for making a plan and sticking to it! It’s a sign that you will accomplish much in this life. But maybe next time you’ll want to start with a different plan, something that won’t leave you feeling bilious.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    March 23, 2012 6:59 am

    225kcl/29carb 2 oz glazeddddddddddeee, fresh or stale, add 90kcl/10 if hole is included. Absorbs directly through taste buds as visceral fat which is immune to exercise and/ or diet. Liposuction looms.

    • March 23, 2012 5:57 pm

      You are such a downer (I can say that to him, folks, because I know him. Very very well)

  4. March 23, 2012 12:04 pm

    I recently had a maple bacon donut and it was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. This same establishment also offered froot-loop topped donuts and ones that had crushed fried potato chips adorning chocoate dips. Yummy.

    • March 23, 2012 5:56 pm

      Yum! Where was this? Can I get me some?

      • March 23, 2012 6:26 pm

        If you’re ever in Ottawa between Thursday and Sunday, head over to Suzy Q donuts. mmm

  5. March 23, 2012 12:27 pm

    I like sour-cream, old fashion Entemann’s donuts. In my bulimia days i ate a box at a time. Haven’t had one since … but i’m craving ONE donut now. yum

    • March 23, 2012 5:58 pm

      ACtually – glad to hear you haven’t had one since. They are good – but not that good. thanks for the comment!

  6. March 23, 2012 2:56 pm

    Oh, they are naughty, aren’t they? I like the vanilla-cream filled ones. But I’ll certainly eat a different kind in its place–I’m a donut non-discriminator. In fact, we are getting some this Sunday. Now you’ve got my mouth already watering. :)

    • March 23, 2012 5:57 pm

      And you know – I forgot all about the filled ones. I love a good jelly donut.

  7. Wendy permalink
    March 23, 2012 10:53 pm

    Fabulous! I rarely indulge anymore but I have fond memories of Saturday morning trips to Winchell’s where I would help my dad choose a Baker’s Dozen. Devil’s food with chocolate icing was always my go to.

  8. March 23, 2012 11:24 pm

    When I was working, special events called for boxes of donuts. There were so many, no-one felt any guilt in having more than one or three or whatever. I always managed at least two. Then I felt rotten but never sorry. Nowadays, I’ve been retired five years and the donuts compulsion has disappeared. I don’t indulge in sweets anymore that that hasn’t made any difference / improvement in my FIGURE. Doesn’t make sense!

    Great post. Nice to think of donuts.

    • March 24, 2012 5:34 am

      But you probably do feel better….right? right? thanks!

  9. March 24, 2012 4:12 am

    Normally I cannot eat a doughnut without it landing like a brick in my stomach…so I usually abstain. HOWEVER (and yes, I do mean however written in caps because this is a momentous segue), I can indulge in a cake-like morsel from Top Pot Doughnuts in Seattle Washington without the upsetting side effect. Unfortunately for me, but fortunate for my waste-line, I don’t live any where near Washington state.

    Thanks for the “sweet nothings” of a post. :)

  10. April 1, 2012 1:01 pm

    Enjoy them… they are satisfying. ;-)

    • April 2, 2012 4:37 am

      I try to! The once yearly I get to eat them! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

