Skip to content

19. I am a liar.

November 28, 2011

Because, really…no Virginia. No.

I won’t say it.

But we all know.

It gets harder every year. In my family, we’ve long since dispensed with the easy questions. I mean, come on, everyone knows that the big guy has some helpers who hang out at malls.

Now I’m fielding the tough ones like:

  • But I thought you said magic wasn’t real?
  • How does he find the homeless kids?
  • Can he make it so daddy can move back in with us?

For now, my secret weapon still works. My answer to all questions: I don’t know.

  • Hm….
  • I’m not really sure
  • I don’t really understand it myself
  • …it’s weird, hunh?
  • Hey – I think Kayla’s mom might know more about this then me…should we call her?

(my neighbor makes actual phone calls to the big guy. Naïve, I say, and way too risky. Other mom’s are   the best, and most conclusive authority I have found)

I have at least one more year.The Fragile Blossom is still only five, and Thinks-He’s-Justin-Bieber tends to be a little clueless.

I fear exposure. Because, when they learn the truth, they will also learn that Mom (who reiterates daily that lying is far more serious then say, hitting your brother)  is a liar.

So for know, I’m white-knuckling it, holding on for all I’m worth. It’s about the innocence of  Christmas. Right? Right?

Santa Claus Christmas Christmas Christmas season

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 7:53 pm

    This is a good post!! I haven’t gotten to this yet – but I’m sure it’s coming. Still trying to decide how we’re going to address it and I’m procrastinating on coming up with an answer. I’m loving being able to wait it out for now 🙂 – that and the Christmas list demands haven’t started either. yay!

    • November 30, 2011 5:42 am

      Well… you really do have some time! Enjoy the peaceful Christmas….:)

Trackbacks

  1. 24. I am still thinking about lying. « I am not who I think I am
  2. 25. Still on the subject of lying… « I am not who I think I am

Leave a Reply

