Skip to content

31. Cranky Sun-daze and an Old Dog

January 20, 2012

puppies kitty rainbow woman with gun cranky cranky crankyDid I mention that I get cranky?

Things that bug the crap out of me include:

  • Smiling Starbucks barristas
  • The fact that I have to call the people who work at Starbucks “barristas”
  • Slow drivers
  • Fast drivers
  • All drivers except me, and sometimes me too.
  • Phone trees
  • Hold music
  • Phone trees followed by hold music
  • Nice people
  • For a Better Life Buy Shit Especially Facial Scrubs and Transparent Organizing Boxes Magazine (Otherwise known as Real Simple)
  • All of the half-filled, partly broken, transparent boxes lying around my chaotic house
  • The fact that there were times in the past that my ex  didn’t do the dishes
  • The fact that I’m still thinking about the times in the past that my ex didn’t do the dishes
  • A can-do attitude

Yesterday, though, not cranky. Driving slowly through a pretty, tree-lined neighborhood, I had to stop while an old dog crossed the street. Bright pools of winter light played across rough-edged pavement. His owner, an elderly man, stood at the side of the road. He watched as the dog sort of shambled across, in and out of the light. The dog looked like an old shaggy bear, heading to take a long snooze in the sun—which made me laugh.

Then the old man flipped me off. Hunh?

I don’t know what I did wrong. Had I been driving too fast? Was he upset that I was laughing at his old dog? Was he upset because he was old and the dog was old, and they  just keeps getting older? I don’t know. But I know that my body got flooded with cranky. Well here’s cranky back at you! I wanted to roll down my window and tell him to go fuck himself.  I didn’t. I drove on, but …. Breezy old trees?  Gone. Sun-dappled street? Gone. I spent the next ten minutes, lost in rehearsing biting yet witty comebacks. Then all I can think is, I’m getting old too.  Life sucks.

Today, not too cranky yet and  I think: So. That old man brought  cranky into the world. When he, or I, bring cranky into the world, there is more cranky in the world.

If I can choose which old guy to become, I’m going to try to take the dog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 2:44 am

    Just keep wagging your tail. It always beats barking. Wonderful collection of words.

    • January 22, 2012 5:13 pm

      Thanks! My dog wags her tail and barks at the same time…. is that normal?

  2. January 24, 2012 8:47 pm

    Hahaha, your list reminded me of something I would write! And that old man would have had me snarling for the entire day too. Try to just focus on the dog when you catch yourself feeling like that – but the trick is to catch yourself feeling like that.

Leave a Reply

