Skip to content

35. Dear Jad Abumrad and Robert Krulwich

January 27, 2012
radio lab radiolab radio lab radiolab radiolab radio lab radio lab radiolab radio lab radiolab radiolab radio lab

Courtesy of oz.deichman.net

I’ve been catching up on missed episodes of Radio Lab and  just listened to “The New Normal” (2009). At the beginning, you pose the question, “Will humans ever stop fighting wars?” Um…. No. I answered in my head, unconditionally: No.

Just like most of the folk you questioned on the street.

Then your story about pacifist baboons opened up a little chink in my armor of belief, just enough to allow for the following train of thought:

1. Whether or not I believe lasting peace is possible doesn’t have any effect on whether or not lasting peace is possible.

2. Unless I am wrong.

3. What if, actually, my little kernal of belief – combined with your little kernal, and my neighbors little kernal, and my Facebook friends’ little kernal, all work together in some great tidal wave of 100th monkey syndrome to create the actual possibility of a world without war, the new normal of the episodes’ title?

4. Then I should choose to believe in the possibility of an end to war.

5. But what if that’s wrong – what if there is no 100th monkey, what if all the kernals of belief just add up to….well, some belief?

6. No harm, no foul.

7. Hence, I should, and indeed choose to, believe in the possibility of a world without war.

Not a new idea, I know. But thanks for reminding me to give peace a chance.

This Change Artist

P.S. Did I mention that I love love love Radiolab? Thank you for so many thoughts, feelings and fun.

Email me at notwh000@gmail.com or

Follow me on Twitter @notwh0

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

