Skip to content

42. Sometimes I Pray

February 18, 2012

A guest post from my friend N.:

Sometimes I pray. And it helps. This is new behavior—very new. Never in my life, except for a brief stint in my tween years when I was heavily influenced by  Are You There God It’s Me Margaret, have I prayed. But now, about 30 years post Are You There?, I pray regularly. I don’t pray to an actual god, but instead to force or a power both inside and beyond myself. However, I do sometimes call this force ‘god’ as a shorthand because the word is just so damned ingrained–and conveniently monosyllabic. I also don’t use actual prayers, at least not preexisting ones. Well, I use a few preexisting ones, but not word for word–I like to riff–and I don’t relate to the language of most prayers, but, it turns out, I like some of the ideas they contain.

That I can beseech something for help, for acceptance, for clarity, or for trust that it will all be OK, and that it works, in the sense that I feel more calm and centered when I am done, is totally unexpected. And quite…lovely.

are you there god its me margaret judy blume are you there god its me margaret judy blume

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 1:26 am

    Sometimes it just takes getting it off your chest :).

  2. March 6, 2012 10:58 pm

    The “conveniently monosyllabic” made me giggle. I agree though, sometimes you just need to put things out in the aether…

Leave a Reply

