Skip to content

45. My yoga teacher is a meanie. Or maybe the devil.

February 24, 2012

bernal yoga bernal yoga bernal yoga bernal yoga bernal yogaHear that Traci Joy Burleigh! Yes, that’s you we’re talking about!

Oh sure, she doesn’t come off as mean at first. She’s no drill sergeant. She doesn’t bark. She doesn’t belittle. Petite, blond, with a gentle, quiet voice: she has nothing in common with Louis Gosset Jr.* But look at those sinewy muscles. She could take you out, man. And she has tattoos—that might be a sign of mean-ness right?

And then there’s the things she says in class:

  • “Ok now, take your block underneath your left arm and reach your right arm around to take hold of your leg and lift up-and-in. A little higher. Stay there, reach with that back toe. A little higher. Relax your jaw.”
  • “Downward facing dog press-ups. Just five more.”
  • “Breathe”

Am I right?!?! What a meanie!

(but we love her. Really we do. Despite her possible affiliation with Satan**)

*Remember An Officer and a Gentleman? All of my understanding of the military comes from the movies….

**Full disclosure – I have no reason to believe that T.J. has anything to do with devil-worship, satanic ritual, or any other demonic practices, unless you consider yoga sit-ups to be evil. Which I don’t. Except when I am doing them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. iamnotshe permalink
    February 24, 2012 9:40 pm

    Devil. Yoga works for many! Moi, pain and suffering has been my experience. 51and I swim!!! M

    • February 25, 2012 1:20 am

      Ahhh…. I miss swimming. Though I’ve had times when I thought the pool was the devil….

  2. February 27, 2012 1:57 pm

    thanks for the “like” on my blog…I’m off to cruise your posts! thanks again, kate

  3. March 6, 2012 11:06 pm

    As someone who also loves and suffers through yoga, I laughed all through this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

