Skip to content

49. Spring cleaning

March 4, 2012

vacuum cleaner breathe spring cleaning spring cleaning anxiety anxiety anxiety

I cleaned my room last night. Laundry into the hamper. Sweaters uncrumpled, shaken, evaluated, and hung up in the closet. Piles of books redistributed throughout the house. Layer of dust removed – check. Furntiture pushed around — check. Eliminated dust bunnies the size of my dog – um… uncheck. Not that I wasn’t trying, but after a few minutes of vacuuming AT them, I realized that the vaccum was actually just redistributing them across the room. I wish I could say that I stopped right away. Instead I tried to convince myself that those huge nests of hair + goose down + and unidentified bits of organic matter getting chased across the floor were actually diminishing. Then it was like they moved into my head and set up a giant whirling of anxiety: vaccum cleaner bags, and repair shops and empty bank accounts and my children will never go to college! I should JUST QUIT RIGHT NOW! Breath. Breathe. And then  I went downstairs and ate pepperoni pizza. Then – and this is the triumph – I went back upstairs. I took the vaccumm cleaner apart, and removed the giant chunk of gunkiness stuck right in the middle of the hose. Then I quietly, or noisily rather, made all of those dust bunnies disappear. Quite satisfying really. Still don’t know if my children will go to college – but I can live in the unknowing for a little while longer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 9:18 pm

    Oh dust denial, I’ve been there. Surely they are disappearing. If I just press harder, they’ll disappear. Maybe if I try vacuuming at an angle . . . No? Really? What I wouldn’t give for an Oreck. They really are as good as the commercials say they are. I know because I borrowed one once. But, yes, college educations vs premier vacuum. Back to pushing harder.

    • March 11, 2012 4:15 am

      The big message I’ve been getting, is push less hard. But I’m just not sure how that applies to vacuuming…

      • March 12, 2012 6:16 pm

        Good plan for life. Not so good for vacuuming . . .

Leave a Reply

